Spatial Cognition

by

Spatial cognition is, “thinking of a space and how the various elements of that space relate to one another.” In a study of my living room I used spatial cognition to sketch a perspective view of the space. My spatial cognition came into play when I began to measure and draw up a plan for the placement of the objects within the space. Non-spatial cognition is, “the remembrance of places and how we feel about them.” When analyzing my emotional and cognitive responses to sensory information such as color, form and line, visual quality, and light, I used non-spatial cognition as a guide. It is this sensory information that helped me better understand the factors that affect my responses to my living room.

Initially, when we received this assignment I knew my forensic explorations would be very similar if not exact to my imagined space due to my over observant mind. My perspective sketch included my TV cable box, my crookedly placed speakers, and even my cat sleeping in her favorite spot on the love seat. In addition to that I even included the crack in the window near the love seat where the blistering heat seeps in raising my AC bill.  My observing skills go beyond the interior. They apply to street, which comes in handy with directions. Even when I loose things I have a photographic memory of my drawers and shelves. Now only if I had a photographic memory when it came to studying.

I would like to think it was my design skills that help me remember such vivid details. However, I believe it is quite the opposite. I believe it is because of my gift to imagine a space exactly as it is, whether it is real or part of a project, is a large reason why I am so interested in interior design.  The only discrepancy I found was when I was sketching the floor plan to scale. Inserting the furniture to size, I realized where I thought the placement was, was not correct. For example I thought that my media cabinet was in the middle of the windows on the west wall, but the windows are more south of the middle of the wall, and the cabinet is centered in the entire wall. Overall my factual documentation supports my memory of the space.

Lastly, I used Augustin’s descriptions of sensory information in a space to determine my emotional and cognitive responses.  The main colors in my space are beige walls, honey wood floors, and chocolate brown slipcovers. Accent colors are found in a distressed, turquoise hallway table, various blue hue photographs, and a fabric covered plywood cut with organic circles of teals, turquoise, pea green and army green. Last, the white rug has an accent lime green organic stripe running through it like a river. According to Augustin, my colors are relaxing and comfortable. They have similar saturation. The patterns in my living room are a mixture of hard lines and curved lines, what I believe to be the perfect balance of masculine and feminine. For example the art above my couch is a square piece of plywood wrapped in textured fabric with organic circles similar to those that occur in nature. One could say it can spur creativity or high-mental activity.

Reading Augustin’s information on color and perception I found that my chocolate covered sofas make my room look smaller because they look bigger put against my light colored beige walls. The application of this statement rang true in my forensic study. On paper my living room looks much bigger than it feels in real life. The walls in my living room are wood panels painted light matte beige. This fact incorporates texture and line in one. The repetition of the vertical lines gives a sense of order and stability. The panels may also be considered a pattern, which creates a rhythm. Over all the space has an asymmetrical balance due to the circulation from front door to dining room. Finally, I studied the light in my living room. The main light source is an overhead fan with three incandescent bulbs. One of the bulbs is blown out, thus it is a bit lower than normal, but it measured at 1076 lux, which Augustin deems to be on the brighter side. However, the one light source does not reach the walls very well so I have a table lamp on my hallway table and a floor lamp in the opposing corner. The table lamp measures 3200 lux (it is the only light source with a fluorescent bulb). The floor lamp measures 2000 lux. All together with every light source turned on they measure about 1900 lux. But on a more personal note, I loathe artificial light because it always seems yellow. I love natural light to the point where I won’t turn on the lights until I am unable to see it’s so dark outside!

img001IMG_0110

IMG_0113IMG_0111

dhb002

Leave a Reply

